Web Content Display

Questions or comments? Contact Teri Dixon.

Web Content Display

Council of Mayors


Provide a conduit for communication between local elected officials and regional Transportation agencies. The Executive Committee of the Council of Mayors was formed in 1981 to provide a link among the councils and also between the councils and the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO). The executive committee was organized to formalize and strengthen the input from the region's municipalities regarding regional Transportation planning and programming decisions. The committee helps to develop policies to assist the region in meeting air quality and Transportation planning requirements and to assure regional equity in planning and funding decisions.

Committee Members

The Council of Mayors is composed of the chief executives of the 283 municipalities in the seven-county CMAP region, organized into 11 subregional councils plus the City of Chicago. Each of the subregional councils appoints two members to serve on the Executive Committee:

North Shore
President Sandy Frum, Northbrook
Mayor George Van Dusen, Skokie

President Al Larson, Schaumburg
President Karen Darch, Barrington

North Central
President Jeffrey Sherwin, Northlake
Mayor Joseph Tamburino, Hillside

President William Rodeghier, Western Springs
President Jim Discipio, LaGrange Park

President Dave Brady, Bedford Park
Mayor John Mahoney, Palos Park

President Michael Einhorn, Crete
Mayor Eugene Williams, Lynwood

President Len Austin, Clarendon Hills
President Erik Spande, Winfield

President Edward Ritter, Carpentersville
Mayor Jeffery Schielke, Batavia

Mayor Leon Rockingham, North Chicago
President Glenn Ryback, Wadsworth

President Richard Mack, Ringwood
President Robert Nunamaker, Fox River Grove

Mayor Roger C. Claar, Bolingbrook
Mayor Jim Holland, Frankfort

2017 Schedule

  • January 10, 2017
  • May 23, 2017
  • July 18, 2017
  • October 24, 2017
Loading more updates...