Web Content Display

Questions or comments? Contact Simone Weil.

Web Content Display

Economic Development Committee

On January 12, 2011 the CMAP Board approved changes to CMAP's committee structure to aid the implementation of GO TO 2040. As a result, the Economic and Community Development committee will now be known as the Economic Development committee. Please update your bookmarks and information as needed.

Committee Mission & Charge

The mission of the CMAP Economic Development Committee is to promote economic & workforce development policies, best practices, and research that foster sustainable growth and regional coordination.  Further, the committee will advance the recommendations of GO TO 2040 for economic development through research and recommendations around regional industry clusters, tax policies, workforce development, innovation as well as the broader range of infrastructure, land use, and governance policies that lead to sustainable regional prosperity.

This committee is charged with the following activities in support of economic development for the CMAP region:

  • Provide feedback to staff and the coordinating committees on CMAP projects, research, and analyses as they relate to regional economic development issues.
  • Provide critical review of CMAP draft reports and their underlying research on proposed regional plans, projects, and policies.
  • Serve as a discussion forum for regionally important issues in economic development, innovation, and workforce planning and policy.
  • Coordinate and prioritize policy positions, programs, and advocacy between CMAP and other organizations.
  • Identify relevant economic development best practices in the CMAP region and encourage their adoption by CMAP partners.
  • Convene economic development stakeholders to help formulate and implement policies and plans consistent with best practice and the GO TO 2040 Plan.

Adopted May 8, 2014



Greg Bedalov Choose DuPage
Patrick Carey, Committe Co-chair Cook County
Peter Creticos Institute for Work and the Economy
JoAnn Eckmann World Business Chicago
JoAnna Greene Chicago Cook Workforce Partnership
Reggie Greenwood South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association
John Grueling Will County Center for Economic Development
Rand Haas Medusa Inc
Katie Hamilton Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce
Emily Harris Harris Strategies
Mark Harris Illinois Science and Technology Coalition
Bret Johnson Northwestern University Transportation Center
Jason Keller Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Gretchen Kosarko RW Ventures
Judith Kossy Policy Planning Partners
Kevin Kramer Village of Hoffman Estates
MaryBeth Marshall DuPage Workforce Board
Kelly O'Brien Alliance for Regional Development
Kurtis Pozsgay Berwyn Development Corporation
Lance Pressl Institute for Work and the Economy
Nick Provenzano McHenry County & Office of the Hon. Randall Hultgren, Member of Congress
Ed Sitar ComEd
Gary Skoog Golden Corridor
Christine Sobek, Committee Chair Waubonsee Community College
Carrie Thomas Chicago Jobs Council

Jerry Weber

College of Lake County


2015 Meeting Schedule

The 2015 meeting schedule is below. All meetings will begin at 9:30amFor more information, see CMAP's calendar. Meeting materials are available here

  • Monday, January 26
  • Monday, February 23
  • ​Monday, March 23
  • Monday, April 27
  • Monday, June 22
  • ​Monday, July 27
  • ​Monday, September 28
  • ​Monday, October 26
  • ​Monday, November 23




Loading more updates...