Environment & Natural Resources Committee

Jan 4, 2018

Environment & Natural Resources Committee

The Environment & Natural Resources Committee's charge is to:

    • Provide feedback to staff and the coordinating committees on CMAP projects as they relate to environment and natural resources.
    • Serve as a discussion forum for regionally important issues in environmental planning and policy.
    • Help coordinate and prioritize policy positions, programs, and advocacy between CMAP and other organizations.
    • Help identify relevant environmental best practices and encourage their adoption by CMAP partners in the region.

Its 2018 schedule is as follows:

    • January 4
    • February 1
    • March 1
    • April 5
    • May 3
    • June 7
    • July 12 – second Thursday, given 4th of July holiday
    • August – no meeting
    • September 6
    • October 4
    • November 1
    • December – no meeting

See current and archived committee materials.


The current make up of the committee includes representatives from academia; federal; state and local resource and regulatory agencies; local land management agencies; stormwater, watershed, and wastewater planning agencies; local municipal and county government representatives; and environmental advocacy and policy agencies. 

Lynn Boerman, Illinois Department of Natural ResourcesJoe Schuessler, Metropolitan Water Reclamation District
Ed Collins, McHenry County Conservation DistrictDeborah Stone, Cook County Department of Environmental Control
Keary Cragan, USEPA, Region 5 Mike Sullivan, IDOT District 1
Jack Darin, Sierra Club, Illinois ChapterAndrew Szwak, Openlands
Martha Dooley, Village of SchamburgMike Warner, Lake County Stormwater Management Commission
Jackie Forbes, Kane County Division of TransportationKim Wasserman-Nieto, Little Village Environmental Justice Organization
Danielle Gallet, Metropolitan Planning CouncilSean Wiedel, City of Chicago
David Leopold, UI LabsMoira Zellner, University of Illinois - Chicago