

433 West Van Buren Street Suite 450 Chicago, IL 60607 312-454-0400 cmap.illinois.gov

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP)

Board Meeting Minutes

May 12, 2021

Computer, tablet or smartphone:

https://zoom.us/j/7283344601

telephone:

+13126266799,,7283344601#

Board Members Present:

Gerald Bennett, Chair-representing southwest Cook County, Rita Athasrepresenting the City of Chicago, Frank Beal-representing the City of Chicago, Matt Brolley-representing Kane/Kendall Counties, Maurice Coxrepresenting the City of Chicago, Karen Darch-representing northwest Cook County, Jim Healy-representing DuPage County, John Noakrepresenting Will County, Rick Reinbold-representing south suburban Cook County, Nancy Rotering-representing Lake County, Carolyn Schofield-representing McHenry County, Anne Sheahan-representing the City of Chicago, Matthew Walsh-representing west central Cook County, and Diane Williams-representing suburban Cook, and non-voting members Leanne Redden-representing the MPO Policy Committee and Abolfazl Mohammadian-representing the Office of the Governor

Staff Present:

Erin Aleman, Amy McEwan, Angela Manning-Hardimon, Kathy Lane, Laura Wilkison, Stephane Phifer, Alison Case, Gordon Smith, and Sherry Kane

Others Present:

Elaine Bottomley-WCGL, Emily Daucher and Jon Paul Diipla-McHenry County, John Donovan-FHWA, Jackie Forbes-Kane/Kendall County Council, Michael Fricano-West Cook, Kendra Johnson-NWMC, Mike Klemens and Joseph Surdam-Lake County Council, Daniel Knickelbein and Suzette Quintell-DMMC, Daniel Maziarz, Adam Miliszewski-WSP, Matt Pasquini-NWMC, Leslie Phemister-SSMMA, Tina Fassett-Smith and Melissa Silverberg-RTA, Noah Jones and Troy Simpson-Kane County, Kris Skogsbakken-Pace, Vicky Smith-Southwest Conference, and Audrey

Wennick-MPC

1.0 Call to Order and Introductions

CMAP Board Chair Mayor Bennett called the meeting to order at approximately 9:31 a.m., read the governor's disaster declaration, reminded the members that the meeting was being live-streamed, and asked Executive Director Erin Aleman to call the roll.

Mayor Bennett	Present	Rita Athas	Present	Frank Beal	Present
President Brolley	Present	Maurice Cox	Present	Mayor Darch	Present
Jim Healy	Present	Mayor Noak	Present	President Reinbold	Present
Mayor Rotering	Present	Carolyn Schofield	Present	Anne Sheahan	Present
Matt Walsh	Present	Diane Williams	Present	Leanne Redden	Present
			Abolfazl Mohammadian		Present

2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements

There were no agenda changes

3.0 Approval of Minutes

A motion to approve the minutes of the April 14, 2021, meeting of the CMAP Board as presented was made by Jim Healy, seconded by Anne Sheahan, and a roll call vote followed:

Mayor Bennett	Yes	Rita Athas	Yes	Frank Beal	Yes
President Brolley	Yes	Maurice Cox	Yes	Mayor Darch	Yes
Jim Healy	Yes	Mayor Noak	Yes	President Reinbold	Yes
Mayor Rotering	Yes	Carolyn Schofield	Yes	Anne Sheahan	Yes
Matt Walsh	Yes	Diane Williams	Abstain		

The motion carried.

4.0 Executive Director's Report

Executive Director Erin Aleman's report included updates on the following: community project funding process (earmarks); treasury guidance on state and local aid; CMAP initiatives that include: a state of the region event that will include an awards program; and, a public opinion poll.

5.0 Proposed updates to CMAP Board By-laws

Executive Director Erin Aleman highlighted proposed changes to the CMAP By-laws that had been reviewed at Executive Committee in April. Staff was asked to clarify language related to the positions of first and second chair. The presentation was for discussion only. Staff will recommend the board approve changes to the by-laws in June.

6.0 Presentation: ON TO 2050 Plan Update

Deputy Executive Director Laura Wilkison presented the timeline for the ON TO 2050 plan update and gave a brief description of the nine required (as well as two related, but not required projects) that will be completed prior to adoption of the ON TO 2050 plan update by the CMAP Board and MPO Policy Committee by October 2022.

7.0 State and Federal Legislative Update

Government Affairs Director Gordon Smith, reported that the state legislative update had been included in the board materials and offered to field any questions.

8.0 Other Business

A matter related to the CN purchase of another railroad line in the region that would increase rail traffic was discussed. While no vote was necessary, the following members indicated their support for a letter to the STB requesting more data.

Mayor Bennett Rita Athas Frank Beal
President Brolley Maurice Cox Mayor Darch
Jim Healy Mayor Noak President Reinbold
Mayor Rotering Carolyn Schofield Anne Sheahan
Matt Walsh Diane Williams

9.0 Public Comment

There were no comments from the public.

10.0 Next Meeting

The Board is scheduled to meet next on June 9, 2021; Chair Mayor Bennett reiterated that attendance is critical, and that the board will likely recess for the months of July and August.

11.0 Adjournment

At approximately 10:12 a.m., a motion to adjourn by President Rick Reinbold, seconded by President Karen Darch, and with all in favor, carried.

Mayor Bennett	Yes	Rita Athas	Yes	Frank Beal	Yes
President Brolley	Yes	Maurice Cox	Yes	Mayor Darch	Yes
Jim Healy	Yes	Mayor Noak	Yes	President Reinbold	Yes
Mayor Rotering	Yes	Carolyn Schofield	Yes	Anne Sheahan	Yes
Matt Walsh	Yes	Diane Williams	Yes		

The motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Sherry Kane, EA

05-14-2021 /stk

Approved as presented by roll call vote, June 9, 2021