

233 South Wacker Drive Suite 800, Sears Tower Chicago, IL 60606

312-454-0400 (voice) 312-454-0411 (fax) www.cmap.illinois.gov

Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning Minutes

July 25, 2008

Cook County Conference Room 233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800, Sears Tower Chicago, Illinois

Members Present: Chair - Luann Hamilton - CDOT, Chuck Abraham - IDOT- DPIT,

Michael Bolton – Pace, Bill Brown – NIRPC, Bruce Christensen - Lake County, Michael Connelly - CTA, Thomas Cuculich - DuPage County, John Donovan – FHWA, Heidi Files - Kane County, John Fortmann-IDOT District One, Ted Georgas - Cook County, Jack Groner - Metra, Henry Guerrino - Illinois Tollway, Larry Keller – Council of Mayors, Don Kopec - CMAP, Christina Kupkowski - Will County, Janice Metzger - CNT, Randy Neufeld - Bicycle and Pedestrian Task Force, Les Nunes – IDOT-OP&P, Jason Osborn - McHenry County, Mark Pitstick - RTA, Holly Smith - Kendall County, Paula Trigg – Lake County, Jeff Harris –

Class 1 Railroads

Members Absent: Vanessa Adams – FTA - USDOT Chicago Metro Office, Vonu Thakuriah

- UIC-UTC, Ken Yunker - SEWRPC

Others Present: Kristen Bennett, Leonard Cannata, , Lynnette Ciavarella, Chalen Daigle,

Kama Dobbs, Chad Riddle, David Seglin, Vicky Smith, Chris Staron,

Mike Suvillan, Mike Walczak, Tammy Wierciak

Staff Present: Shana Alford, Patricia Berry, Teri Dixon, Doug Ferguson, Roseann

O'Laughlin, Holly Ostdick, Ross Patronsky, Russell Pietrowiak, Todd

Schmidt, Kermit Wies

1.0 Call to Order and Introductions

Luann Hamilton, Committee Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements

There were no agenda changes or announcements.

3.0 Approval of Minutes

On a motion by Mr. Cuculich, seconded by Mr. Georgas, the minutes were approved. Vote: All Ayes. Motion Carried.

4.0 Coordinating Committee Reports

The Programming Committee has not met since the last Transportation Committee meeting. Ms. Hamilton presented a summary of the activities at the Planning Coordinating Committee including a presentation on the development of indicators by the Chicago Community Trust and discussing the on-going indicator workshops.

5.0 RTA Update

Mr. Pitstick updated the committee on RTA progress on its update of the RTA strategic plan stating that the RTA board passed a resolution endorsing the work to date on the regional performance measures and an interim capital evaluation process for development of the 2009 budget.

6.0 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

6.1 Transportation Improvement Program

Ms. Ostdick requested committee approval of amendments to not exempt and exempt TIP projects that exceed amendment thresholds.

On a motion by Mr. Pitstick, seconded by Mr. Groner the not exempt and exempt project amendments were approved. Vote: All Ayes. Motion Carried.

6.2 TIP Update

Ms. Ostdick asked the committee to consider coordinating projects moving to the new federal fiscal year in October and not waiting until the end of the calendar year. The Committee agreed with this approach.

She continued to state that the deadline for new non exempt/exempt tested project and changes to current non exempt/exempt tested projects is July 31st for consideration of approval at the October MPO Policy Committee.

7.0 Illinois State Implementation Plan (SIP) Submission (Mike Rogers)

Mr. Rogers explained to the committee that the U.S. EPA issued a notice of "Failure to Submit" with respect to Illinois' 8-hour ozone SIP. This SIP submission was due on June 15, 2007, but has been delayed in order to update the baseline data used to demonstrate that air quality standards will be met.

The Failure to Submit notice started a "clock" in which federal transportation approvals will be held up beginning in March, 2010 if the state does not submit a complete SIP for ozone. The state is releasing the ozone SIP for public comment this month, and will submit it to U.S.EPA in October. The U.S. EPA is expected to make a finding of completeness on the submission by December, which will terminate the sanctions clock.

8.0 2007 CMAP Travel Tracker Survey

Mr. Wies discussed the 2007 CMAP Travel Survey which is now complete and a public use dataset is available on the CMAP website. The hardline data is available now. CMAP staff will also analyze and share the analyzed data at a later date.

9.0 Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement Program

Mr. Ferguson asked the committee to release the proposed FY 2009 CMAQ program for public comment. He gave an overview of the program which has \$63 million available and 82 recommended projects. Public comment will extend through August 28 with a September 9th review by the CMAQ Project Selection Committee. The program will then be forwarded for consideration of CMAP Board and Policy Committee approval in October.

On a motion by Mr. Kopec, seconded by Mayor Keller the FY 2009 CMAQ program was released for public comment. Vote: All Ayes. Motion Carried.

10.0 Congestion Pricing Study

Mr. McLaughlin presented an update on the regional congestion pricing study conducted by the Illinois Tollway and Metropolitan Planning Council. He

reviewed the recently held workshops and some of the comments and thoughts by elected officials, staff of various municipalities, and the general public.

11.0 GO TO 2040 Plan

11.1 Regional Indicators/Transportation Performance Measures

Mr. Williams-Clark gave the committee an overview of the proposed regional indicators/transportation performance measures. The committee decided that more time was needed to review the indicators/performance measures. Therefore this matter will come before the committee again next month.

11.2 Scenario Construction

This item was tabled until the August 22 meeting.

12.0 Other Business

There was no other business.

13.0 Public Comment

No public comment.

14.0 Next Meeting

The next meeting is scheduled for August 22, 2008 at 9:30 a.m. in the Cook County Room.

15.0 Adjournment

A motion was made and seconded for adjournment. The meeting adjourned at 11:25 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Teriply

Transportation Committee Members:

Charles Abraham	Fran Klaas	Mike Rogers
Vanessa Adams ***	Don Kopec	Joe Schofer
Thomas Cuculich**	Paul Losos	Dick Smith
Chris DiPalma ***	Mike McLaughlin	David Simmons
Rocky Donahue	Jan Metzger	Steve Strains
John Fortmann	Arlene Mulder	Vonu Thakuriah
Bruce Gould	Randy Neufeld	Paula Trigg
Rupert Graham, Jr	Jason Osborn	Ken Yunker
Jack Groner	Leanne Redden	Tom Zapler
Luann Hamilton*	Thomas Rickert	Rocco Zucchero
*Chair	**Vice-Chair	***Non-voting