

233 South Wacker Drive Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois 60606

312 454 0400 www.cmap.illinois.gov

Environment and Natural Resources Committee

Agenda Wednesday, March 4, 2015 9:30 a.m.

DuPage County Conference Room 233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois

1.0 Call to Order

9:30 a.m.

- 2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements
- **3.0** Approval of Minutes February 4, 2014 ACTION REQUESTED: Approval
- **4.0** Waste Management in the Chicago Region Eve Pytel, Delta Institute Delta Institute conducted a regional waste benchmarking study to determine the economic and environmental costs of current waste management practices for 20 municipalities and then projected out three management scenarios to the year 2040. By increasing rate of recycling and waste diversion, the Chicago region could create up to 39,000 regional jobs and achieve significant environmental benefits, offsetting greenhouse gas emissions from practices such as collection, disposal, transportation, and separation. Pytel will provide an overview of their findings and recommendations. *ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion*
- **5.0** Cook County's Demolition Debris Diversion Ordinance Deb Stone, Cook County Department of Environmental Control

This ordinance has allowed Cook County to achieve recycling or reuse of 90% of building materials from demolitions and renovations, keeping them out of landfills, reclaiming valuable materials, avoiding Greenhouse Gas emissions and creating jobs. Enacted in 2012, the Ordinance sets standards and requirements for building material reuse in suburban Cook County. Deb Stone will provide an overview of the ordinance, which has been cited as a best practice by the U.S. EPA and the Building Material Reuse Association. *ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion*

- 6.0 Other Business
- 7.0 Public Comment

This is an opportunity for comments from members of the audience. The amount of time available to speak will be at the chair's discretion. It should be noted that the exact time for the public comment period will immediately follow the last item on the agenda.

8.0 Next Meeting

The next meeting will be April 1, 2015 at 9:30 am.

10.0 Adjournment

Environment and Natural Resources Committee Members:

____Ed Collins ____Jack Darin ____Martha Dooley ____Jon Grosshans ____Pete Harmet ____Martin Jaffe ____Anne McKibben ____Stacy Meyers ____Joe Schuessler ____Deborah Stone ____Mike Sullivan ____Wallace Van Buren

____Sean Wiedel ____Patricia Werner ____Nancy Williamson