

233 South Wacker Drive Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois 60606

312 454 0400 www.cmap.illinois.gov

Environment and Natural Resources Committee

Agenda Thursday, February 4, 2016 9:30 a.m.

DuPage County Conference Room 233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois

1.0 Call to Order

9:30 a.m.

- 2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements
 - Scheduling a joint meeting with CMAP's Land Use Working Committee. Proposed date, Thursday, April 14 at 9:30 am (instead of the regular meeting on April 7).
- **3.0 Approval of Minutes January 7, 2016** ACTION REQUESTED: Approval

4.0 Next Regional Plan: Climate Resilience – Louise Yeung, CMAP Staff

From flooding to heat, climate change is already affecting the region's infrastructure, ecosystems, and communities. The new regional plan will explore strategies to build resilience to a changing climate. Yeung will present a draft policy framework and potential strategy directions for climate resilience. *ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion*

5.0 Next Regional Plan: Transportation Strategies – Jesse Elam, CMAP Staff

As part of the next planning process, CMAP has identified a number of topics for study relating to transportation. Staff will provide an overview of the different transportation components and how they fit into the overall process. *ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion*

6.0 Next Regional Plan: Environmental Evaluation of Major Capital Projects – Nora Beck and Elizabeth Irvin, CMAP Staff

In past evaluations of capital investments, CMAP has estimated both environmental and economic impacts of candidate transportation improvements. For the environmental impacts, CMAP reviewed past methods for calculating environmental impacts and identified additional techniques that could be used in the future. At this stage, CMAP is requesting ENR committee feedback on a draft memo recommending appropriate methods for future capital project evaluations.

7.0 Other Business

8.0 Public Comment

This is an opportunity for comments from members of the audience. The amount of time available to speak will be at the chair's discretion. It should be noted that the exact time for the public comment period will immediately follow the last item on the agenda.

9.0 Next Meeting

The next meeting will be March 3, 2016 at 9:30 am.

10.0 Adjournment

Environment and Natural Resources Committee Members:

| Jennifer Becker | Jon Grosshans | Deborah Stone |
|-----------------|-----------------------|-------------------|
| Lynn Boerman | Pete Harmet | Wallace Van Buren |
| Ed Collins | Suzanne Malec-McKenna | Sean Wiedel |
| Jack Darin | Stacy Meyers | Patricia Werner |
| Martha Dooley | Joe Schuessler | Moira Zellner |
| - | | |