

233 South Wacker Drive Suite 800, Sears Tower Chicago, IL 60606

312-454-0400 (voice) 312-454-0411 (fax) www.cmap.illinois.gov

Bicycle and Pedestrian Task Force Agenda

1:00 p.m., Thursday, January 6, 2011

DuPage County Conference Room 233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800, Sears Tower Chicago, Illinois

1.0 Call to Order and Introductions

Tom Rickert, Chairman

1:00 p.m.

2.0 Approval of Meeting Notes from July

Meeting notes are posted at http://www.cmap.illinois.gov/bikeped/minutes.aspx SUGGESTED ACTION: Approval of meeting notes

2.1 Bicycle and Pedestrian Task Force Membership / Representation

CMAP staff proposes that Task Force membership be extended to consultant John LaPlante, of T.Y. Lin International. In addition, IDOT District 1 Environmental Unit Head and Bikeway Coordinator, Sam Mead, has been selected by IDOT to serve as their representative (*ex officio*) to the Task Force. James Stoner, IDOT District 1 Pedestrian Coordinator, will also participate as available and as needed. Todd Hill, IDOT State Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator will continue to participate on state-wide issues.

SUGGESTED ACTION: Motion to extend membership.

3.0 Regional Planning

3.1 GO TO 2040 LTA Program

CMAP staff will give the Task Force information on the GO TO 2040 Local Technical Assistance (LTA) program, which is accepting applications until January 28, 2011. The LTA program will provide assistance for planning projects that help to implement GO TO 2040. SUGGESTED ACTION: *Information and discussion*.

3.2 Northwest Municipal Conference (NWMC) Bicycle Plan – 2010 Update

NWMC staff, Mike Walczak and Chris Staron, together with their consultant, Active Transportation Alliance, will present on the recent update of the NWMC Bicycle Plan and on the process and results of this sub-regional bicycle planning effort. Paul Lippens, Cook County Complete Streets Coordinator at ATA, will also summarize efforts to create and update other sub-regional bicycle and pedestrian plans as part of the Cook County Department of Health's Communities Putting Prevention to Work (CPPW) grant.

SUGGESTED ACTION: Presentation and discussion.

3.3 Eisenhower Expansion Project – Eisenhower Regional Trail

CMAP staff will update the Task Force on the status of the letter to IDOT which the Task Force requested.

SUGGESTED ACTION: Information

4.0 Pedestrian and Bicycle Project Programming

4.1 Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (CMAQ) Program: Project and Strategy Identification and Prioritization

CMAP staff will introduce proposed modifications to the CMAQ Program development process. The Task Force will discuss the applicability of this approach to other funding sources and its implications for the work of the Bike-Ped Task Force. The Task Force will begin initial discussion of project and strategy identification and prioritization methods.

SUGGESTED ACTION: Information and discussion

4.2 Illinois Transportation Enhancement Program

CMAP staff will distribute the list of projects in the region, which received funding in Cycle 9 ITEP.

SUGGESTED ACTION: Information

4.3 Safe Routes to School (SRTS)

IDOT SRTS Coordinator, Megan Holt, will give the Task Force an update on the Illinois SRTS program.

4.4 Follow-up Item: Pedestrians' right-of-way at crosswalks (Public Act 096-1165)

CMAP (or if available, IDOT) staff will update the Task Force on the status of the State's efforts to clarify, address concerns with, and raise awareness of the new law that requires drivers to "stop and yield the right-of-way" to pedestrians in a crosswalk.

SUGGESTED ACTION: Information

4.5 Project Updates

Implementing agencies will be invited to provide a brief update regarding the status of programmed projects. Staff is requesting information on recently let projects, completed projects, and project delays which need attention by CMAP staff.

SUGGESTED ACTION: Information, Discussion, and Referral to Staff

5.0 Public Comment and Announcements

This is an opportunity for comments from members of the audience. The amount of time available to speak will be at the chair's discretion. It should be noted that the exact time for the public comment period will immediately follow the last item on the agenda.

6.0 Next Meeting

Next meeting is suggested for Wednesday, April 20, 2011 at 1:00 p.m.

7.0 Adjournment 3:00 p.m.

Bicycle and Pedestrian Task Force Members:

Ed Barsotti	David Longo	Greg Piland
Richard Bascomb	Allan Mellis	Keith Privett
Ron Burke	Taqhi Mohammed	Tom Rickert, Chairman
Bruce Christensen	Barbara Moore	Kevin Stanciel
Chalen Daigle	Joe Moriarty (alt.)	Matthew Sussman
Deborah Fagan	Lowell Nelson (alt.)	Jonathan Tremper
Andrea Hoyt	Randy Neufeld	Robert Vance
Gin Kilgore	•	Craig Williams