233 South Wacker Drive Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois 60606

312 454 0400 www.cmap.illinois.gov

Economic Development Committee

Agenda
Thursday, June 12, 2014
9:00 a.m.
Kane/McHenry County Conference Room
233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800
Chicago, Illinois

1.0 Call to Order/Introductions

9:00 a.m.

- 2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements
- 3.0 Approval of Minutes—May 8, 2014

4.0 Welcome to New Committee Member Kurtis Pozsgay

The month the Committee will be bringing on a new member, Kurtis Pozsgay with Berwyn Development Corporation. Mr. Pozsgay is a nationally accredited urban planner and graduate of Michigan State University with a degree in urban and regional planning. Since entering the work force, he has worked on a variety of planning initiatives to include: Form Based Codes, Streetscape Planning and Design, Complete Streets, Transit Oriented Development, Comprehensive Planning, Zoning, and Active Transportation including bicycle, walking and transit planning. Kurtis has also worked extensively in economic development, including managing Tax Increment Financing and Business Improvement districts. ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

5.0 Update on State and Regional Economic Development Research,

Lindsay Hollander, Staff

Description

In January, CMAP released Reorienting State and Regional Economic Development: Lessons Learned from National Examples. Staff will update the committee on the progress of the second phase of the project, which is focused on challenges and opportunities for metropolitan Chicago.

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

6.0 Preview of Economic Indicators, Simone Weil, Staff

To inform communities and policy makers about the health of the region's economy, next month CMAP will roll out a new web microsite with data and analysis tracking a wide variety of regional economic indicators. Focusing on four major economic themes, the site's analysis covers broad economic trends and major industry clusters, as well as workforce and innovation metrics outlined in GO TO 2040. Staff will present a preview of the website and the analysis supporting it.

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

7.0

As required under MAP-21, staff has been in the process of updating the GO TO 2040 plan since the summer of 2013. Staff has prepared a draft plan update consisting of a summary document and a series of appendices that describe each of the key elements of the project in technical detail. As discussed at previous meetings, none of the plan's recommendations have been revised. Staff anticipates release of the draft for public comment on June 13. Outreach meetings have been scheduled across the region through the end of the public comment period on August 1. Staff anticipates adoption of the final plan

update at the October meetings of the Board and MPO Policy

Draft GO TO 2040 Plan Update, Drew Williams-Clark, Staff

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

Committee.

8.0 Congestion Mitigation & Air Quality Improvement Program Process Review, Jesse Elam, Staff

The Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) program is a federal transportation funding source that CMAP programs through a competitive regional process. Staff are undertaking a review of the evaluation and ranking process used in the program and are seeking working committee feedback. Staff will give a PowerPoint presentation and then lead a conversation about the management of the program.

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

9.0 LTA Program Evaluation, Bob Dean, Staff

Over the next several months, CMAP will engage its working committees and other partners in an evaluation of the first three years of the LTA program, with the intent of using the results to focus future resources most effectively. This will be a multi-part discussion, held over a series of committee meetings. Staff will present basic

program statistics, and the results of external surveys by project sponsors

ACTION REQUESTED: DISCUSSION

7.0 Other Business

8.0 Public Comment

This is an opportunity for comments from members of the audience. The amount of time available to speak will be at the chair's discretion. It should be noted that the exact time for the public comment period will immediately follow the last item on the agenda.

9.0 Next meeting – July 10, 2014

10.0 Adjournment

Committee Members		
Jerry Weber, Chair	Mark Harris	Kelly O'Brien
Oswaldo Alvarez	Emily Harris	Kurtis Pozsgay
Greg Bedalov	Rand Hass	Lance Pressl
Peter Creticos	Bret Johnson	Nick Provenzano
Patrick Carey	Jason Keller	Ed Sitar
JoAnn Eckmann	Gretchen Kosarko	Gary Skoog
Joanna Greene	Judith Kossy	Carrie Thomas
Reggie Greenwood	MaryBeth Marshall	
John Grueling	Andrew Moyer	