

233 South Wacker Drive Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois 60606

312 454 0400 www.cmap.illinois.gov

# **MPO Policy Committee**

Annotated Agenda
Thursday, January 14, 2016
9:30 a.m.
Cook County Conference Room
233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800
Chicago, Illinois

#### 1.0 Call to Order and Introductions

9:30 a.m.

### 2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements

# 3.0 Approval of Minutes – October 14, 2015

ACTION REQUESTED: Approval

### 4.0 Agency Reports

- 4.1 Executive Director's Report
- 4.2 CMAP Board Report
- 4.3 Council of Mayors' Report

#### 5.0 Unified Work Program (UWP)

Staff will provide an update on the process for developing the SFY 2017 UWP. Several recommendations and the proposed timeline for the process are included in the attached memo. ACTION REQUESTED: Information

#### 6.0 Interim Products for Long-Range Plan

The next long-range plan is scheduled to be adopted in fall 2018. Staff has identified several opportunities in the interceding years for the Board and the MPO Policy Committee to formally vote to approve interim products, as described in the attached memo. ACTION REQUESTED: Information

### 7.0 Updates on Regionally Significant Projects

Members of the Committee will be asked to provide brief updates on regionally significant transportation investments that are currently underway or upcoming. ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

#### 8.0 Federal Legislative Framework and Agenda

Staff will present the draft 2016 Federal Legislative Framework and Agenda, and will also provide an update on the Fixing America's Surface Transportation (FAST) Act, focusing on the provisions that most directly affect the Chicago region.

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

~

## 9.0 Alternative Long-Term Funding Options

CMAP's recent funding crisis and the delay in approving a State budget have clearly illustrated the vulnerability of the agency's operating funds. Staff has begun to explore alternative funding options, as described in the attached memos. Committee discussion is requested.

**ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion** 

- 10.0 Other Business
- 11.0 Public Comment
- 12.0 Next Meeting March 10, 2016
- 13.0 Adjournment

#### **MPO Policy Committee Members:**

Randy Blankenhorn, Chair	Scott Gryder	Leanne Redden
Kay Batey	Elliott Hartstein	Rebekah Scheinfeld
Frank Beal	R.A. Kwasneski	Jeffery Schielke
Greg Bedalov	Christopher J. Lauzen	Marisol Simon
Dorval Carter	Aaron Lawlor	Liisa Lawson Stark
Tom Cuculich	John McCarthy	Larry Walsh
Joseph Gottemoller	Don Orseno	John Yonan