Advisory Committee

Advisory committee

The Phillip D. Peters Regional Planning Fellowship advisory committee meets several times annually to coordinate financial/budgetary matters, program promotion, candidate interviewing/selection and fundraising. Membership of the committee demonstrates the continuity and commitment of its founders and partners. Five members are former Northeastern Illinois Planning Commission (NIPC) employees, three members are Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) employees, one member is a former Peters Fellows, and three are members of the Peters family.

Committee members

  • Keith Sbiral, AICP — first Peters Fellow (Chair)
  • Mary Cele Smith, former interim research director, NIPC
  • Tony Manno, principal planner, CMAP
  • Hubert Morgan, principal, Stanhope Consulting — former CMAP staff member
  • John Paige, AICP, president, Urban Planning Services, Inc. — former NIPC staff member
  • Jean Peters, Mr. Peters' widow
  • John Peters, son of late Mr. Peters
  • Susan Peters Schaefer, daughter of late Mr. Peters
  • John A. Swanson, executive director, Advisory Board of Trustees, Catholic Charities Diocese of Gary, Indiana — former executive director of Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission and former executive director of NIPC