COM Overview

Council of Mayors

The Council of Mayors' charge is to provide a conduit for communication between local elected officials and regional transportation agencies. The Executive Committee of the Council of Mayors was formed in 1981 to provide a link among the councils and also between the councils and the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO). The executive committee was organized to formalize and strengthen the input from the region's municipalities regarding regional transportation planning and programming decisions. The committee helps to develop policies to assist the region in meeting air quality and transportation planning requirements and to assure regional equity in planning and funding decisions.

The Council's 2019 meeting schedule is as follows:

  • January 15, 2019
  • March 5, 2019
  • May 14, 2019
  • August 20, 2019
  • October 29, 2019

See current and archived meeting materials. 

Committee Members

The Council of Mayors is composed of the chief executives of the 283 municipalities in the seven-county CMAP region, organized into 11 subregional councils plus the City of Chicago. Each of the subregional councils appoints two members to serve on the Executive Committee:

North Shore
President Lawrence Levin, Glencoe
Mayor George Van Dusen, Skokie

President Karen Darch, Barrington
President Thomas Hayes, Arlington Heights

North Central
President Jeffrey Sherwin, Northlake
Mayor Joseph Tamburino, Hillside

President Jim Discipio, LaGrange Park
President Alice Gallagher, Western Springs

President Dave Brady, Bedford Park
President Mary Werner, Worth

President Michael Einhorn, Crete
Mayor Eugene Williams, Lynwood

President Len Austin, Clarendon Hills
President Erik Spande, Winfield

Mayor Jeffery Schielke, Batavia
President John Skillman, Carpentersville

Mayor Leon Rockingham, North Chicago
President Glenn Ryback, Wadsworth

President Richard Mack, Ringwood
President Robert Nunamaker, Fox River Grove

Mayor Roger C. Claar, Bolingbrook
Mayor Jim Holland, Frankfort

To Top