MPO Policy Committee

MPO Policy Committee

The MPO Policy Committee is designated by the governor of Illinois and northeastern Illinois local officials as the region's Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO). It is the decision-making body for all regional transportation plans and programs for this area. The MPO Policy Committee plans, develops and maintains an affordable, safe and efficient transportation system for the region, providing the forum through which local decision makers develop regional plans and programs.

The CMAP Board and MPO Policy Committee have jointly adopted a memorandum of understanding that is the framework for integrating land use and transportation through CMAP's regional comprehensive planning process. It was most recently revised and reaffirmed on October 11, 2017. The agreement covers the working relationship between the two boards, whose responsibilities are defined in the Regional Planning Act and federal legislation. By adopting this agreement, the MPO Policy Committee and CMAP Board affirmed their commitment to coordinate and integrate the region's planning for land use and transportation in an open and collaborative process.

Meetings and Materials

The MPO Policy Committee meetings are held on the second Thursday of January, March, and June at the CMAP offices at 9:30 a.m.  The October meeting is a joint meeting with the CMAP Board Committee and in 2020 is scheduled for October 14.  

2020 Schedule:

  • January 9

  • March 12

  • June 11

  • October 14--Joint Meeting with CMAP Board 


See current and archived meeting materials. 


Representing Name Position Organization
Municipal Government
Chicago Department of Transportation (CDOT) Kevin O'Malley Deputy Managing Commissioner Chicago Department of Transportation
Council of Mayors Jeffery Schielke Mayor City of Batavia
Cook John Yonan** Superintendent of Transportation & Highways Cook County
DuPage Dan Cronin County Board Chair DuPage County
Kane Christopher J. Lauzen County Board Chair Kane County
Kendall Scott Gryder County Board Chair Kendall County
Lake Sandy Hart County Board Chair Lake County
McHenry Jack Franks County Board Chair McHenry County
Will Lawrence Walsh County Executive Will County
Federal Agencies
Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Arlene Kocher Division Administrator FHWA
Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Kelley Brookins Regional Administrator FTA
Regional Agencies
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) Frank Beal Senior Executive Civic Consulting Alliance
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) Matt Brolley Village President Village of Montgomery
Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) Leanne Redden Executive Director RTA
Operating Agencies
Chicago Transit Authority (CTA) Dorval Carter President CTA
Class I Railroads Erik Varela Senior Director Public Affairs-Illinois Union Pacific Railroad
Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) Omer Osman* Acting Secretary IDOT
Illinois State Toll Highway Authority (ISTHA) José Alvarez Executive Director ISTHA
METRA Jim Derwinski
Executive Director/CEO
PACE Richard Kwasneski Chairman Pace

* Chairman
** Vice-Chairman

Updated 07/24/2019

Metropolitan Planning Area

The Metropolitan Planning Area (MPA) is the region in which the federally-regulated metropolitan transportation planning process must be carried out.  The MPA encompasses the Census-defined urbanized area and the contiguous geographic area(s) likely to become urbanized within the next 20 years.  Portions of the Chicago, IL-IN urbanized area extend into northwest Indiana.  By agreement, the Northwestern Indiana Regional Planning Commission assumes responsibility for these areas.  By a similar agreement, the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission assumes responsibility for the portion of the Round Lake Beach-McHenry-Grayslake, IL-WI urbanized area that extends into Wisconsin.

The 2010 Census included portions of DeKalb County in northeastern Illinois' urbanized area. In June, 2013 the CMAP Board and  MPO Policy Committee approved expanding the MPA to include Sandwich and Somonauk townships in DeKalb County.  The Governor approved the expanded MPA in September, 2014.

In addition to planning for the urbanized area, the MPO Policy Committee is responsible for transportation planning in the air quality nonattainment area.  The nonattainment area includes Goose Lake Township in Grundy County, which is outside the MPA.  An agreement between Grundy County and CMAP establishes that CMAP is responsible for federally-regulated transportation planning in this township.

Endorsement Documentation

To Top