Human & Community Development Committee

Human & Community Development Committee

Vision:  The Human and Community Development Committee seeks to enhance the upward social mobility of all residents by strengthening family and community networks to amplify the impact of equitable transportation, land use, and economic development in the region.

Mission: The Committee will provide advisory input to CMAP on improving upward social mobility, equity and health in the identification and pursuit of investments and policies to achieve the objectives of ON TO 2050, with an emphasis on economically disconnected populations.

Near-term initiatives:

  • Provide input on upward social mobility, equity, and health criteria in CMAP work.
  • Provide input in scoping specific planning and programming projects to achieve upward social mobility, equity, and health.
  • Strengthen and coordinate, where possible, regional capacity-building in community networks to advance social mobility for the Chicago region.


See current and archived committee materials.  The 2019 meeting schedule is as follows:

  • April 9th at 10am
  • June 4th at 10am
  • August 6th at 10am
  • October 8th at 10am
  • December 10 at 10am





Geri Aglipay

Small Business Majority

Dasha Arias

Google Chicago

Sheri Cohen (co-chairwoman)

Chicago Department of Public Health

Michael Davidson (co-chairman)

Chicago Community Trust

Fluturi Demirovski

Regional Transportation Authority

Laurie Dittman

Mayors Office for People with Disabilities, City of Chicago

Leslie Edstrom

Area on Aging Northeastern Illinois

Jackie Forbes

Kane County Division of Transportation

Joan Fox

DuPage County

Kendra Freeman

Metropolitan Planning Council

Melody Geraci

Activ Transportation Alliance

Jacky Grimshaw

Center for Neighborhood Technology

Eden Hurd


Hanna Kite

Cook County Department of Public Health

Tiffany McDowell

Chicagoland Equity Network

Kirsten Peachey

The Center for Faith and Community Health Transformation

Greg Polman

Chicago Lighthouse

Olatunji Oboi Reed 


Enrique Salgado, Jr.

WellCare Health Plans, Inc./Harmony

Laura Schneider

Lake County Health Department and Community Health Center

Raj Shah, MD

Rush Medical Center / Center for Community Health Equity

Rosalie Shemmer


School of the Art Institute of Chicago

Darnell Shields

Austin Coming Together

Janna Simon

Illinois Public Health Institute

Dominic Tocci

Cook County Bureau of Economic Development

William Towns

Benefit Chicago


To Top