Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning

Agenda Item No. 3.0

233 South Wacker Drive Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois 60606

312 454 0400 www.cmap.illinois.gov

Local Coordinating Committee Minutes

Wednesday June 8, 2011

Cook County Conference Room 233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois

Committee Members Present:	Elliott Hartstein, Chair (Village of Buffalo Grove-CMAP Board), Alan Bennett (Village of Elmwood Park -CMAP Board), Lenore Beyer-Clow (Openlands-Environment and Natural Resources Cmte.), Susan Campbell (University of Chicago-CMAP Board), Nancy Firfer (MPC-Housing Cmte.), Ngoan Le (Chicago Community Trust-Human and Community Development Cmte.), Marilyn Michelini (Village of Montgomery-CMAP Board), Raul Raymundo (Resurrection Project-CMAP Board), Leanne Redden (RTA-Transportation Cmte.), Dan Shea (Algonquin Township- CMAP Board), Jerry Weber (College of Lake County-Economic Development Cmte.)
Members Absent:	Mark Avery (DuPage County-Land Use Cmte.), Rick Reinbold (Village of Richton Park-CMAP Board)
Others Present:	Bruce Carmitchel-IDOT, Jason Ciavarella-RTA, David Kralik- Metra, Al Larson-Village of Schaumburg and CMAP Board, Marta Perales-IL MPO, Chris Staron-NWMC, Jan Ward- Kane County Council of Mayors
Staff Present:	Hala Ahmed, Brett Baden, Randy Blankenhorn, Ylda Capriccioso, Bob Dean, Jill Leary, Stephen Ostrander, Joey Silberhorn, Gordon Smith

1.0 Call to Order

Elliott Hartstein, Chair called the meeting to order just after 8:00 a.m.

2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements

There were no agenda changes or announcements.

8:00 a.m.

3.0 Approval of Minutes – March 9, 2011

A motion to approve the minutes of the March 9, 2011 meeting, as presented, made by Dan Shea, was seconded by Marilyn Michelini and with all in favor, carried. Alan Bennett abstained as he did not attend the meeting.

4.0 Community Planning Program Grants

CMAP staff Hala Ahmed provided the committee with information regarding the Community Planning Program, through which CMAP is partnering with RTA to expand the existing program for municipalities to fund local planning initiatives. Applications were due on June 9, 2011, and a list of recommended projects will be presented to the CMAP Board on August 10, 2011. The committee will be asked to recommend the list to the Board, prior to the Board meeting on that date. An optional meeting may be held the week preceding the Board meeting in August. (*Note: this meeting was not held due to committee consensus that it was not necessary.*) The criteria used for selecting the projects were included in the applications and will be sent to the committee members as well.

5.0 DCEO "Ike" Planning Program

Bob Dean described the DCEO "Ike" planning program administered by DCEO, to which CMAP submitted a proposal to establish a local grant program to fund planning projects including comprehensive planning, green infrastructure, and stormwater planning. Dean reported that CMAP's role would be to be the administrator of the funds for the region, on the planning side only – other funds related to the "Ike" program, such as infrastructure, would be available directly from DCEO.

Dean fielded questions and comments from committee concerning the importance of avoiding duplication with DCEO programs and maximizing coordination with existing regional grant programs, involving COGs and interjurisdictional groups in identifying projects, the appropriate level of funding for CMAP to be seeking, ensuring that communities of color are included, and identifying best practices for communities to use as models. After discussion of these issues, committee members indicated support for CMAP's approach.

6.0 Local Technical Assistance Program Update

Bob Dean gave the committee a summary concerning project status, and noted that the overall program was currently on target.

7.0 Partner Involvement in Local Technical Assistance Program

Bob Dean informed the committee that CMAP worked with approximately 40 agencies, including government agencies (counties, COGs, RTA, and state agencies) as well as non-profits and philanthropic organizations, to apply for the HUD grant that is funding the Local Technical Assistance program. CMAP's application was funded in part because of the direct involvement of nongovernmental groups in the program.

Representing two of the most significant nongovernmental partners, Nancy Firfer, from MPC, and Ngoan Le, from the Chicago Community Trust, provided overviews of their organizations' involvement in the LTA program. The MPC projects include helping communities chart future supply and demand trends in housing and develop long term policy plans through the Homes for a Changing Region program; working with the Village of Lake Zurich to develop an integrated water resources plan; developing a retail strategy in three key areas in the Bronzeville neighborhood with the Bronzeville Alliance; and working with SSMMA on a number of projects; as well as future projects to be determined. The Trust covers 6 of the counties in the northeastern Illinois region and has worked with CMAP on the GO TO 2040 regional comprehensive plan, as well as the development of the MetroPulse website. They have also provided funding to local governments, as well as the creation of the Chicago Botanical Garden, Harris Theatre and the arts with in the Chicago area.

Dean emphasized the importance of involving non-profits in helping to fund and implement GO TO 2040 initiatives, and that CMAP is always looking for new partners to help with the efforts. Committee members discussed potential roles for other nonprofit organizations and philanthropic groups in the LTA program as well.

8.0 Other Business

There was no other business before Local Coordinating Committee.

9.0 Public Comment

There was no public comment.

10.0 Next Meeting

The Local Coordinating Committee is scheduled to meet on August 10, 2011.

11.0 Adjournment

At 9:17 a.m., a motion to adjourn made by Mayor Elliot Hartstein was seconded by Mayor Marilyn Michelini. All in favor, the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, FM2

07-21-2011 /jls

Approved as presented by unanimous vote, August 10, 2011