

233 South Wacker Drive Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois 60606

312 454 0400 www.cmap.illinois.gov

Planning Committee

Annotated Agenda Wednesday, April 12, 2017 8:00 a.m.

DuPage County Conference Room 233 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 800 Chicago, Illinois

1.0 Call to Order 8:00 a.m.

- 2.0 Agenda Changes and Announcements
- 3.0 Approval of Minutes February 8, 2017 ACTION REQUESTED: Approval

4.0 ON TO 2050: Alternative Futures Engagement

Beginning April 9, and through August 2017, agency staff will work with partners to promote broad public participation in workshops and other activities around the five "alternative futures" for the region. As part of this effort, CMAP will place a number of iPadbased kiosks at high-traffic locations across the region, with a series of brief multimedia applications to highlight each future. CMAP will also deploy its MetroQuest survey tool for more-detailed feedback from stakeholders.

ACTION REQUESTED: Information

5.0 ON TO 2050: Alternative Futures, Constrained Resources

Through the ON TO 2050 Alternative Futures process, CMAP staff is assessing broad, macro-level trends that could affect the region by 2050, as well as identifying strategies to prepare for these futures. Staff will present the "Constrained Public Resources" future, anticipating stagnant federal and state resources, which could negatively affect quality of life without implementation of funding and effective governance strategies.

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

6.0 ON TO 2050: Reinvestment and Infill, Lands in Transition, and Tax Policy and Land Use Trends Strategy Synthesis

As part of ON TO 2050 development, CMAP is developing Strategy Papers on Reinvestment and Infill, Lands in Transition, and Tax Policy and Land Use. Having developed this work in concert with committee members and stakeholders, staff will highlight the linkages between the three projects and present key strategies and implementation steps for committee discussion.

ACTION REQUESTED: Discussion

7.0 Other Business

8.0 Public Comment

This is an opportunity for comments from members of the audience. The Chair will recognize non-committee members as appropriate. Non-committee members wishing to address the Committee should so signify by raising their hand in order to be recognized by the Chair. The Chair will have discretion to limit discussion.

- **9.0 Next Meeting** June 14, 2017
- 10.0 Adjournment

Committee Members:

| Elliott Hartstein | Franco Coladipietro | Al Larson |
|------------------------|---------------------|------------------|
| (Chair) | Jack Darin | Richard Reinbold |
| Carolyn Schofield | Michael Davidson | Leanne Redden |
| (Vice-Chair) | Janel Forde | Mark VanKerkhoff |
| Frank Beal | Jason Keller | Rocco Zucchero |
| Allison Milld Clements | | |