Web Content Display

Questions or comments? Contact Jill Leary

Web Content Display

MPO Policy Committee


The MPO Policy Committee is designated by the governor of Illinois and northeastern Illinois local officials as the region's Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO). It is the decision-making body for all regional transportation plans and programs for this area. The MPO Policy Committee plans, develops and maintains an affordable, safe and efficient transportation system for the region, providing the forum through which local decision makers develop regional plans and programs.

On March 14, 2007, the MPO Policy Committee and the CMAP Board adopted a Memorandum of Understanding with regard to transportation planning and programming in Northeastern Illinois. The agreement covers the working relationship between the two boards, whose responsibilities are defined in the Regional Planning Act and federal legislation. By adopting this agreement, the MPO Policy Committee and CMAP Board affirmed their commitment to coordinate and integrate the region's planning for land use and transportation in an open and collaborative process.

2014 Meeting Schedule

The MPO Policy Committee meetings are held on the second Thursday of January, March, June and October at the CMAP offices at 10:00 a.m. with the exception of the October meeting.  The October meeting is a joint meeting with the CMAP Board Committee and meets at 9:30.

A special meeting was called for May 12, 2014 at 10:00 a.m.

  • January 9, 2014
  • March 13, 2014
  • May 12, 2014
  • June 12, 2014
  • October 9, 2014 at 9:30 a.m. **New Time**

MPO Policy Committee

Representing Name Position Organization
Municipal Government
Chicago Department of Transportation (CDOT) Rebekah Scheinfeld Commissioner Chicago Department of Transportation
Council of Mayors Jeffrey Schielke Mayor City of Batavia
Cook John Yonan Superintendent of Transportation & Highways Cook County
DuPage Thomas Cuculich Chief of Staff DuPage County
Kane Christopher J. Lauzen County Board Chair Kane County
Kendall John Shaw County Board Chair Kendall County
Lake Aaron Lawlor** County Board Chair Lake County
McHenry Tina Hill County Board Chair McHenry County
Will Lawrence Walsh County Executive Will County
Federal Agencies
Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Kay Batey Division Administrator FHWA
Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Marisol Simon Regional Administrator FTA
Regional Agencies
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) Frank Beal Senior Executive Civic Consulting Alliance
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) Elliott Hartstein Former Village President Village of Buffalo Grove (Lake)
Regional Transportation Authority (RTA) Leanne Redden Acting Executive Director RTA
Operating Agencies
Chicago Transit Authority (CTA) Forrest E. Claypool President CTA
Class I Railroads Wesley Lujan Assistant Vice President of Public Affairs Union Pacific Railroad
Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) Erica Borggren* Acting Secretary IDOT
Illinois State Toll Highway Authority (ISTHA) Kristi Lafleur Executive Director ISTHA
METRA Don Orseno
Executive Director
PACE Richard Kwasneski Chairman Pace
Private Providers John C. McCarthy President Continental Airport Express

* Chairman
** Vice-Chairman

Updated 7/11/2014

Loading more updates...